Lunenburg's history comes alive in her Buildings
Allan Morash wasn't shy about making a traffic-stopping statement. In 1888, his cousins, John and Joseph Morash as well as his father, Charles Morash, built this fine example of Victorian Lunenburg.
This house has the typical overhanging window dormers. The entranceway is decked by two dormers, bringing to mind an elaborate wedding cake.
The Morash family proudly claimed several master carpenters in their midst. The results of their handiwork continue to make an impact on the Town and its architectural significance.
Pelham Street's Romkey House, circa 1780, was formerly the Town's Customs Office. It is considered to be the oldest existing house in Lunenburg.
The gambrel-roofed home has solid plank walls. Its basic lines remain unchanged, although two small dormers on either side of the large Scottish dormer were removed from the front of the house. What is believed to have been a thatched roof has been replaced as well.
Although the house looks quite compact from the street, be sure to check out the back view -- you may be surprised to note it's not as small as you thought.
From the oldest to one of the Town's newest. In recent years, the Lunenburg Arms underwent a lengthy, carefully crafted facelift and rebuilding before becoming a popular hotel-and-eatery.
Crowning its roofline is a Bluenose weathervane, a tribute to the town's seafaring history.
With a clear eye on the importance of education, the Lunenburg Academy opened in November, 1895.
The two-storey, wooden masterpiece was topped by a Mansard roof and cost about $30,000. The first floor had six classrooms with separate cloakrooms for boys and girls. The second floor had the same along with a laboratory and library. The third floor assembly hall seated over 400.
Six entrances kept boys and girls separate, except while in class. Four towers stood tall, in one was a bell weighing over 600 pounds. The basement was home to six modern furnaces.
In Janurary, 1966, the town opened a new junior-senior high school, leaving grades primary-to-five at the Academy, where they are still taught today.
With some coaxing, my wife, Suzanne, lets loose her "inner child."
Lunenburg's majestic "Castle on the Hill" can be seen for miles around during the day and when it's lit up at night.
This charming picket fenced garden accents a traditional black and white image. Note the highly decorative burgundy-and-white knees above the window.
Lunenburg's unique architecture features the Lunenburg Bump. It is believed to have evolved from the five-sided Scottish dormer.
Towards the latter part of the 19th Century, the roof dormer was extended, supported by elaborate, decorative knees which allowed it to overhang the sidewalks.
Some builders chose to extend the dormers downward as an entrance to the house. Often the doors were outlined with small panes of clear or stained glass.
Those wishing for a more elaborate roof line, chose a three-tiered design reminiscent of an exotic pagoda.
Click to go back to Lunenburg's page
Click to go back to Home page